Sekazi Mtingwa awarded the ISC Policy-for-Science Award

Huge congratulations to LAAAMP co-founder and EC member Sekazi K. Mtingwa, who has been awarded the prestigious inaugural International Science Council's Policy-for-Science Award 2021 in recognition of his 30+ years involvement in enhancing STEM opportunities around the world, especially in Africa.

Sekazi_ISCaward2021Sekazi Mtingwa is the recipient of the 2021 International Science Council (ISC) Policy-for-Science Award with the following motivation:

"Prof. Mtingwa initiated and sustained several important centers, societies, institutes, initiatives, networks, and pan-African programs, beyond his own discipline – particularly, the African Laser Centre, the African Physical Society, the African Institute for Mathematical Science in Ghana, the African Light Source Initiative, the Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology in Tanzania. He made significant contributions to science systems in developing countries and contributed to the strengthening of diversity in physics in the USA."

The award was presented during the ISC General Assembly on Wednesday, 13 October 2021.

Posted 12 Oct 2021