CALL for APPLICATIONS for FAculty-STudent (FAST) Teams to Spend Two (2) Months During Calendar Year 2023 at Participating Advanced Light Sources


The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), and Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) will award FAST Team grants to enhance advanced light source (AdLS) and crystallography sciences in seven (7) targeted regions of the world: Africa, the Caribbean, Mexico, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, Middle East, and Pacific. The successful applicants will spend two (2) months during Calendar Year 2023 at LAAAMP’s AdLS Collaborative Partners to acquire expertise in accelerator technology or AdLS beamline techniques, including those involving crystallography.

Application categories


Consists of applications from FAST Teams that are led by faculty who were 2022 New LAAAMP Awardees.  


Consists of all other applications.  

Who is Eligible under the New Category?


  • Employed as a full-time faculty member at an accredited Ph.D. granting university in the Pacific Islands.
  • Accompanied by one’s Ph.D. student research advisee.
  • Interested in using AdLSs to further one’s research and training endeavors.
  • Previous experience with using AdLSs is limited to a year or less.
  • Ability to spend two (2) months during Calendar Year 2023 as a full-time visitor in residence at an AdLS that is a LAAAMP Collaborative Partner. 


  • Registered as a full-time Ph.D. student at an accredited university that is located in the Pacific Islands.
  • Accompanied by one’s faculty research advisor. 
  • Interested in using AdLSs in one’s dissertation research.
  • Ability to spend two (2) months during Calendar Year 2023 as a full-time visitor in residence at an AdLS that is a LAAAMP Collaborative Partner. 

Amount of Financial Support

LAAAMP will provide 1,818 Euros per person to cover transportation costs. Any excess will be applied to accommodation and subsistence. The remainder of accommodation and subsistence should be negotiated with the host AdLS and other sources of support.


Within one month after the conclusion of the visit to the host AdLS, the FAST team should provide the following:

  1. Maximum 10-page description of the research conducted, including any publications that result.
    All publications should acknowledge the support provided by IUPAP-IUCr-ICTP LAAAMP.
  2. Maximum 3-page report that evaluates the non-scientific aspects of the visit, including positive experiences as well as ways that the visit could be enhanced in the future.

Who are LAAAMP’s AdLS Collaborative Partners?

  • Advanced Light Source (USA)
  • Advanced Photon Source (USA)
  • ALBA (Spain)
  • Australian Synchrotron
  • Canadian Light Source
  • DELTA (Germany)
  • Elettra (Italy)
  • European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
  • Max IV Laboratory (Sweden)
  • National Synchrotron Light Source-II (USA)
  • Photon Factory (Japan)
  • Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (South Korea)
  • SESAME (Jordan)
  • Siam Photon Source (Thailand)
  • Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource (USA)
  • Taiwan Photon Source

To What Persons and Email Addresses Should Applications and Requests of Information be Submitted?

Residents of Africa

Professor Simon Connell
University of Johannesburg
Department of Mechanical Engineering Science
Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Milpark, Johannesburg, 2006, South Africa

Residents of the Caribbean

Professor Carlos R. Cabrera
University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus
Department of Chemistry
San Juan, PR 00931-3346

Residents of Mexico

Professor Matías Moreno
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Instituto de Física
Departamento de Física Teórica

Residents of Southeast Asia

Dr. Supagorn Rugmai
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs and Head of Research Facility Division
Synchrotron Light Research Institute

Residents of Central Asia

Professor Davron Matrasulov
Head of Laboratory for Advanced Studies
Turin Polytechnic University
Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

Residents of the Middle East

Professor Kirsi Lorentz
Science and Technology in Archaeology and Culture Research Center
The Cyprus Institute
Nicosia, Cyprus

Residents of the Pacific Islands

Professor Sekazi K. Mtingwa
Manager of the LAAAMP FAST Team Program
LAAAMP Executive Committee

Click here to download the application form 

Note: Final funding is dependent upon suitable arrangements being made with a LAAAMP AdLS Collaborative Partner.