Former LAAAMP awardees are the first SESAME users

Big congratulations to Dr Kirsi Lorentz and her team from The Cyprus Institute on becoming the first users at SESAME. Kirsi and her student Grigoria Ioannou have been recipients of LAAAMP FAST grants in 2017 and 2018. 


Kirsi Lorentz and her research team (from left to right: Yuko Miyauchi, Grigoria Ioannou, Kirsi Lorentz and Iosif Hafez) at the XAFS/XRF beamline control hutch. © Kirsi Lorentz, The Cyprus Institute

On 17 July, Dr. Kirsi Lorentz, Grigoria Ioannou and their colleagues from the Cyprus Institute arrived at SESAME to perform the first experiment at the XAFS/XRF beamline at SESAME.

Kirsi and Grigoria were awarded a LAAAMP FAST grant in 2017 and a continuing grant in 2018. Thanks to these grants, they were trained at the ESRF (Grenoble, France). 

Read the full story at



Posted 10 Aug 2018