Awardees of the 2nd LAAMP call announced

FAculty-STudent (FAST) teams awardees of the 2nd LAAMP call announced. Six continuing teams plus ten new teams will spend two months at one of the partner AdLSs during Calendar Year 2018.

The LAAMP Executive Committee and Regional AdLS Usage and Strategic Plans Committees congratulate all FAST teams awarded funding to visit one of LAAMP’s collaborating light sources for a period of two months to be completed during Calendar Year 2018: 


Diouma Kobor & Ndèye Coumba Yandé Fall, University Assane Seck of Ziguinchor, Senegal (continuing team)
Oluseyi Philip Oladijo & Keagisitswe Setswalo, Botswana Int’l Univ. of Science and Technology, Palapye, Botswana (continuing team)
Saphina Biira & Bosco Oryema, Busitema University, Uganda (new team)
Kalambuka Hudson Angeyo & Justus Okonda, University of Nairobi, Kenya (new team)
Thulani Hlatshwayo & Thabsile Thabethe, University of Pretoria, South Africa (new team).


Richard A. Taylor & Reco Phillips, University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago (continuing team)
Michael Forde & Ashley St. Clair-Smith, University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago (new team)


Ibrahim Serroukh & Marco Antonio Gardunio Ramón, Autonomous University of Queretaro, Mexico (continuing team)
Gabriela Diaz & Daniel G. Araiza, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (new team)
María Josefina Robles-Águila & Noemí Díaz-Corona, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico (new team)
René Loredo-Portales & Joel Martínez Estrada, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (new team)

Middle East

Kirsi Lorentz & Grigoria Ioannou, The Cyprus Institute, Nicosia, Cyprus (continuing team)
Shehab E. Ali & Ahmed Hassan Ibrahim, Suez Canal University, Egypt (continuing team)
El Sayed Mohamed El Sayed Shalaby & Wafaa Ibrahim Emam, National Research Centre, Egypt (new team)
Abdallah A. M. Shaltout & Safaa S. M. Ali, National Research Centre, Egypt (new team)
Ahmed El-Hussein & Mostafa Zeidan, Cairo University, Egypt (new team)

Details about their training periods at selected AdLSs will be updated at

Posted 06 Feb 2018